Malaysian Indians – Buck up – Reject MIC?

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Come next election, will the seats that have been MIC contested (before) be allocated to them then? What is the difference between voting for MIC (which is pro-BN) and MMS (which is also pro-BN)? Will MIC just lie down and say nothing when their already diminishing share of the allocated seats is now given to some other rival Indian political party? Or will they be a good little BN partner and stay quiet?

How many elected Indian politicians are there in Malaysia these days? Not many. With an almost 9% population, there should at least be a comparative 8% to 9% of them.

Let us look at the Parliamentary seats first. Of the 222 contested seats, 22 Indian politicians were involved in only 18 contested seats. That is 8.1% and about right. Of these 18 contested seats, only 12 Indian politicians were elected and of these 12 winners, 3 were from BN with the remainder 9 being from Pakatan.

12 Indian Parliamentarians equates a 5.4% representation in Parliament.

Let us now look at the State seats. Of the 505 contested seats, 50 Indian politicians were involved in only 37 contested seats. That is only 7.3%. Of these 37 contested seats, only 20 Indian politicians were elected and of these 20 winners, 5 were from BN, 14 from Pakatan and 1 independent somehow got himself elected.

20 Indian State Assemblymen equates a 4% representation.

If you Indian people think this is bad, look at the following figures. Of the 22 Indian politicians involved in Parliamentary elections nationwide, there was 1 independent candidate, 10 BN candidates and 11 Pakatan candidates. Of the 50 Indian politicians involved in the respective State elections, there were 5 independent candidates, 17 BN candidates and 28 Pakatan candidates.
Ask yourself 1 simple question, which party nominated more Indians to stand as their representative and which party has more Indians as elected representatives? The answer is Pakatan Rakyat.

Trivia question: What has Kedah, Kelantan, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor and Terengganu got in common? The answer is that these states do not have a single government Indian representative in their respective State Assemblies. That is 9 out of the 13 states. – By Hakim Joe