Gold clean sweep for national track cycling squad on opening of APG

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

– The national contingent bagged all seven gold medals on offer at the National Velodrome on the first day of the 2017 Kuala Lumpur ASEAN Para Games (APG KL2017) here today.

Although the opening ceremony is only set to take place tonight, the country’s cycling squad showed ‘extraordinary’ spirit to achieve the great feat today.

Muhammad Adi Raimie Amizazahan emerged as the country’s first gold medallist in this 9th edition of the biennial Games through the Kilometre (C1, C2, C3) event, clocking in at 1 minute 17.232 seconds.

Compatriot Mohamad Yusof Hafizi Shaharuddin finished second in 1:22.844s while Singapore’s Tan Hun Boon won the bronze medal with a time of 1:48.672s.

The second gold medal was won in the men’s Kilometre (C4) event by Mohd Najib Turano after a 1:12.771s finish, while another Malaysian rider, Muhammad Hafiz Jamali, won silver with 1:16.493s.

Indonesian rider Muhammad Fadli Imammuddin was forced to settle for a bronze medal after finishing the race in 1:17.444s.

The third gold went to the national contingent’s female rider Nur Azlia Syafinaz Mohd Zais in the women’s sprint event.

Nur Azlia Syafinaz with assistant Noraidillina Adila J. Sam, defeated Singapore’s Emily Lee and her assistant Sarah Tan Hui Zhen who had to settle for a silver medal, 2-0.

The bronze was won by national rider Nur Syahida Tajudin assisted by Nur Rozi Yanti Mat Rodzi, defeating Singapore’s Delia Kang with assistant Jeynelle Lee.

UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championship 2017 bronze medallist Muhammad Afiq Afify Rizan was in a class of his own, contributing the country’s fourth gold in the men’s sprint (B) event.

Muhammad Afiq Afify with assistant Muhammad Khairul Adha Rasul defeated compatriot Muhammad Amin Najmi Romzi who was assisted by Muhammad Firdaus Mohd Zonis, 2-0, in the gold-silver medal match-up.

The bronze went to Singapore’s Jessen Ng Hang Siew assisted by Calvin Sin Teck Kwang, who beat Brunei’s Muhamad Izan Safree Radat and assistant Muhd Feasal Mohd Nurfadillah.

The fifth gold medal was won by Zuhairie Ahmad Tarmizi in the men’s Kilometre (C5) event, after a 1:09.690s finish ahead of the Philippine’s Arthus Eustaquio Bucay who clocked in at 1:15.432s for the silver.

The bronze was won by Indonesia’s Sufyan Saori with a time of 1:19.170s.

Nur Azlia Syafinaz won the sixth gold for the country in the women’s Kilometre (B) event, clocking in at 1:19.359s followed by compatriot Nur Syahida, who won the silver with 1:20.353s.

The bronze went to Singapore’s Emily Lee who finished in 1:25.871s.

The final gold medal was obtained in the men’s Kilometre (B) event through Muhammad Afiq Afify who finished in 1:04.236s, followed by fellow countryman Muhammad Amin Najmi with 1:07.182s for the silver medal.

Singapore’s Jessen Ng Hang Siew, who clocked in at 1:14.542s, took the bronze. – Bernama