Best Season in the Premier League’s 20 Seasons awards

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


The 2011/12 campaign has won the award for Best Season in the Premier League’s 20 Seasons awards.

A late addition to the shortlist of six, the current campaign has pipped its rivals thanks to a mix of wonderfully memorable matches, unbelievable drama and continuing excitement at both ends of the table.

Going into the last day of the season on Sunday 13th May, there is still the title, third, fourth and fifth places and the final relegation spot yet to be decided.

“Teams are going for wins, there are lots of attacking football and lots of goals.” – Richard Scudamore.

Chelsea will also contest the UEFA Champions League final against Bayern Munich on Saturday 19th May, the result of which will affect places in next year’s competition.

Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore says he believes 2011/12 is a deserving winner.

“We’ve never had a season in our 20 where all three things – title, Champions League places and relegation too – have gone down to the last day,” said Scudamore.

“Generally, everyone’s upped their game. Teams are going for victories more and there’s lots of attacking football and lots of goals.

“Many great players and great managers have come together to create the excitement we’ve seen and it’s a wonderful cocktail to have. Long may it continue into next season.”

The 2011/12 season beat off competition from the following campaigns to win the award:

  • 1994/95 (Champions: Blackburn Rovers)
  • 1995/96 (Champions: Manchester United)
  • 1997/98 (Champions: Arsenal)
  • 1998/99 (Champions: Manchester United)
  • 2004/05 (Champions: Chelsea)
  • 2007/08 (Champions: Manchester United)

Manchester City lead Manchester United on goal difference going into Sunday’s final day of the season, with Roberto Mancini’s side facing Queens Park Rangers as they bid to win a first Barclays Premier League title.

The Premier League has never been decided by goal difference before.

Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur and Newcastle United are competing for third, fourth and fifth place – usually fourth place will earn qualification for the UEFA Champions League, but if Chelsea win the final, they enter as defending champions and the team finishing fourth will drop into next season’s UEFA Europa League.

At the bottom, with Wolverhampton Wanderers and Blackburn Rovers already down, the final relegation spot is between Bolton Wanderers, QPR and Aston Villa, although Villa’s healthy goal difference makes it extremely unlikely they could drop into the Championship.

There have been some epic matches this season, including Man Utd 8-2 Arsenal, Spurs 1-5 Man City, Man Utd 1-6 Man City, Chelsea 3-5 Arsenal, Arsenal 5-2 Spurs, QPR 3-2 Liverpool and Man Utd 4-4 Everton.

Many stunning goals have been scored too: Arsenal’s Robin van Persie’s volley against Everton; Peter Crouch’s screamer for Stoke v Man City; Hatem Ben Arfa’s solo effort for Newcastle against Bolton; and Papiss Cisse’s astonishing half-volley for the Magpies at Chelsea last week are just a few of them.

With 10 matches left in the campaign, so far 1,034 goals have been scored – with 1,063 the record for a 38-match season, set in 2010/11.

Along with the issues at the top and bottom there have been plenty of success stories along the way, with Newcastle, Wigan Athletic, Norwich City and Swansea City all exceeding expectations and proving the strength in depth of the division.